Blog

How Much is Bail for a Drug Charge?

Drug exchange of cash for drugs

How to handle drug charges

Being arrested can be a scary thing for anyone and posting drug charge bail can be challenging and confusing if you’ve never been in this position before. Unfortunately, there are people that getting arrested on drug charges is almost as common as getting a speeding ticket. For those people posting bail on drug charges isn’t an unusual thing for them either.

In most states, including Pennsylvania Drug charge bail is determined by a judge, and bail can be different for everyone who is arrested on drug charges. In this state, there are five different categories of bail:

  • Recognizance – If there is an ideal bail, this is the one. This requires the defendant to sign a form agreeing to return for their court date. Eligibility for this requires the defendant to prove the following: Strong employment or family connections in the community; no indication of being a “flight risk” and skipping out on bail or eluding law enforcement; no danger to self, the general public or any possible witnesses.
  • Nonmonetary Conditions – The defendant must satisfy the court they are able to comply with certain conditions set forth by the just that do not involve money, such as leaving the jurisdiction.
  • Unsecured Bail Bond – The defendant is not required to pay bail or make a deposit with money, instead, they put up collateral and sign an agreement that they are liable for the money if they violate bail, such as not appearing for a court date or traveling outside of the jurisdiction.
  • Nominal Bail – This type of release is referred to as surety bonds and requires a small deposit that is deemed to be sufficient security to release the defendant while a bail bondsman provides surety. The bail bondsman may require collateral, like a lien on the defendant’s home.
  • Monetary condition – Compliance with a monetary condition that is a reasonable amount to ensure the defendant appears and complies with bail conditions. 

How much is bail for a drug charge?

There is not uniform bail for drug charges. Drug charge bail bonds can be significantly different based on the charges. For example, a misdemeanor versus a felony, a felony charge can be five to ten times higher because of possible flight risk.  The factors that a judge considers when setting bail are:

  1. Defendant’s age
  2. Any current or outstanding charges
  3. Defendant’s criminal history
  4. Prior record
  5. History of not appearing in court
  6. Any perceived threat of danger
  7. Defendant’s record of substance abuse
  8. Based on these considerations, a judge can rule the drug charge denied bail.

How much time can you get for a drug charge?

If a drug possession charge becomes a conviction, the penalties in Pennsylvania can vary, using the same considerations as above for setting drug charge bail, in addition to other factors that could influence a judge’s ruling.  The following are baselines, and a judge may follow these to the letter or could rule less or more than these baselines:

  • Drug Possession First Offense: Misdemeanor with 12 months of jail time with a fine not to exceed $5000.
  • Subsequent Offense: Misdemeanor, up to thirty-six months of jail time with a fine not to exceed $25,000.
  • Small Amount Marijuana Possession: Misdemeanor up to thirty days of jail time with a fine not to exceed $500.
  • Drug Paraphernalia Possession: Misdemeanor up to twelve months of jail time with a fine not to exceed $2,500. 

Other penalties that a judge can add to these or may be automatically included:

  • Driver’s License Suspended
  • Loss of the right to own or be in presence of a firearm
  • A mandatory drug treatment program
  • Child custody/visitation

Consequences a defendant can face outside of the judge’s ruling are loss of a job, car insurance canceled or premium increase, ineligible for student loans, etc.

Can a possession charge be dropped?

While rarely do the courts will drop the drug possession charges, it isn’t impossible. The strongest way for the defendant’s attorney to have charges dropped is to show that the prosecutor has failed to show proof during the discovery part of the trial.

Can you get bail on a felony charge?

In the state of Pennsylvania, drug charge bail protocol can vary between counties, however, the general rule for a defendant facing misdemeanor charges are mailed a statement of their charges and their court summons by mail, if they are not considered a flight risk.

Regarding a felony drug charge, bail will be set using the same factors of consideration that we listed earlier. This does not mean that every person facing drug charges may automatically post bail, and any charges of an offense that could be sentenced to death or life in prison, no bail will be set.

With drug trafficking charges, bail will be set at high by the judge because this initial appearance by the defendant is only supported by the affidavit of the arresting officer. If the affidavit states there was a controlled substance involved in the suspected drug trafficking, the bond judge will typically set the bond at a 6-figure amount.

arrested for drug charges and facing potential probation

Can you get probation for a felony charge?

Probation is possible for certain felony convictions which may include the defendant meeting certain requirements like maintaining employment, going to drug counseling, and other types of requirements. Violation of these stipulations of probation can result in the defendant being returned to jail, and probation revoked.

Being arrested for any type of offense is not to be taken lightly, and with charges as severe as drug charges, the accused should seek legal counsel immediately.  Any person arrested with drug charges may remain silent and the right to an attorney who will follow through with a drug charge bail being posted. If you need bail for drug charges charges in Lebanon and Reading, PA, call 888-224-5711 today!

What is Typical Bail for DUI?

DUI bail can get you behind bars.

What is Typical Bail for DUI?

It’s important to consider that the more arrests and convictions an individual has on their record, the higher they can expect their DUI to be. For a misdemeanor DUI bond, an individual can expect to pay anywhere from five-hundred to ten-thousand dollars. Felony DUI is far more serious. A felony DUI bond can be up to fifty-thousand dollars. Again, the dollar amount ultimately depends upon your criminal history. If you need large cash bail bonds for your bail, please make sure to make the proper accommodations. Nothing can be more beneficial than citizens performing their civic duty and paying their debt to society. 

How Long Can They Hold You In Jail for a DUI?

Dui bail bonds are serious business. In every state in the United States, a first offense DUI or DWI is classified as a misdemeanor. It is also punishable by up to six months in jail. Under certain circumstances, that amount of jail time can be increased. This is because a repeat DUI offender will incur more jail time than a first time offender.

Does a DUI Ruin Your Life?

A DUI doesn’t have to ruin or control your life. If you have been convicted of a DUI, the consequences could include a fine, a suspended sentence, and community service or jail time. An additional consequence of a DUI could be lost time at work. In such cases, it is important to make sure that your DUI doesn’t affect your job performance. The fine amount for your DUI will vary depending on the circumstances of your DUI. Inevitably, it is important to learn from your DUI mistakes, and make safe, responsible choices in the present and the future.

How Bad is a First Offense DUI?

If you have a DUI, it will be important to consider all of the ramifications. Please review the following ramifications of a first offense DUI.

  • Probation. When an individual is convicted of their first DUI charge, they can expect some type of probation. Depending on the circumstances of the case, the court can order the defendant to serve time in the county jail as a condition of the probation. Depending on the laws in your state, you may be required to spend time in jail even for misdemeanor offenses.
  • License suspension. While the first charge for a DUI offense is generally considered a misdemeanor, virtually every state will suspend your license for a short amount of time.
  • Fines. As previously mentioned, fines are usually an important part of the punishment for a DUI. Fines will vary according to the circumstances but have a general range of five hundred to ten thousand dollars.
  • Community service. Another critical ramification of a DUI is the implication of community service. Community service is an important benefit to society.

Is Your License Suspended Immediately After a DUI?

Technically speaking, a license suspension is imminent approximately ten to thirty days after any DUI or DWI arrest under the law in every state in the United States. For a first time offense DUI, the license suspension can last up to six months on average.

How Much is DUI Bail?

Do you have a lot of arrests and convictions on your record? The more arrests and convictions on your record, the more that you can expect to pay for your DUI bail. Accordingly, a misdemeanor DUI bail typically runs between five hundred dollars and ten thousand dollars. Do you have a felony DUI bond? If so, you should expect to pay up to fifty thousand dollars.

What is a DUI Bail?

Let’s first begin with a definition of what bail is. Bail is the process through which a DUI suspect is given the opportunity to pay money in exchange for his or her release from police custody. This opportunity is usually extended after the booking process.

DUI Without Bail

There are special circumstances where DUI can result in a release from police custody without bail money. If a DUI suspect is arrested and booked, there is an opportunity for such an individual to be granted an “own recognizance” release. With an “own recognizance” release, no bail money needs to be paid to the court and subsequently, no bond is posted. In these circumstances, the suspect is released after making a promise, in writing, to appear in court for every single upcoming proceeding. 

DUI bail is serious business

DUI Monitoring and Bail

It is important to consider that drivers charged with felony aggravated DUI will be subject to more penalties. These penalties include cash bail or being required to wear an electronic alcohol-monitoring anklet. In order to ensure that you or someone you love is not convicted of a DUI, please make sure to always remain sober before getting behind the wheel.

At Bail Shop, LLC we get you the freedom you require to pay your debt to society. Call our professional bail bondsmen at 888-224-5711 to hear dependable information about DUI bail in Lebanon and Reading, PA. 

What happens after bail is posted?

a police car transporting arrested individual

Posting bail, post-arrest

Being arrested and going to jail is unsettling for both the person arrested and their family, friends, even co-workers. The first concern for everyone is to get that person released. There is a process that must take place, involving several steps, which we will cover here.

The first step of the process is “booking” and a bail hearing. The booking is getting the person’s name into the system and the bail hearing will determine that a person can be released before a trial is scheduled and how much will it cost to post bail. A judge will preside over this hearing and is the one that will determine how much is needed and if the accused can post bail or bond with no conditions.

This is the point where a family member or friend will seek the service of a bail bondsman to post bail for the accused. You can post bail without a bondsman if you know somebody that has the full amount of the bail the judge has set. This can be as small as $100, or even less. It can also be in the millions – all depending on what the judge sets the bond.

Do you still go to jail if you pay bail?

Upon being arrested, the accused is typically placed in a “holding cell” after being booked. They will stay there until their bail hearing, which as we explained above, is when a judge will determine if they are able to post bail and be released, and how much that bail is set. The “holding cell” is usually not in the same area as the long-term cells. Think of it as akin to the triage room of a hospital emergency room.

Can you post bail before seeing a judge?

After the accused is booked, depending on the crime, the courts may offer the defendant the option to post bail based on a pre-determined schedule for common crimes, usually nonviolent misdemeanors. If the accused accepts the option and can post bail on their own, they are released from jail.

What happens if the accused declines the option to post bail or can’t post bail? They will be placed in a holding cell until an arraignment is set, where they will go before a judge.

As seen in movies and on television, anyone arrested is allowed one phone call. The person they all can post bail for someone if they have the financial means.  Not all municipalities have courts in session with a judge that rules on how much the accused will need to post bail on weekends. In that case, the accused may be placed in a regular cell until the next day the court is in session with a judge.

How long does it take to get out of jail after posting bail?

After the accused post bail themselves, another person, or with a bail bondsman, they will be freed from jail. This doesn’t mean their legal matters are over though. When you post bail, it is a security that the defendant will return to court on the date issued by the judge.  The purpose of a financial expense to post bail it to discourage the accused from not showing up for their trail or leaving town with no intention of returning. If the accused does not show up as detailed in the conditions when they post bail, a warrant for their arrest will be issued.

Can you post your own bail?

If the accused is financially able and has the cash on hand, yes, you can post bail yourself. Otherwise, you must contract with a bondsman.

arrested and on the way to jail

What happens if you don’t post bail?

Simple answer: You won’t be set free from jail if you can post bail that is determined by the court or the judge. You will remain incarcerated until your court date. This can be anywhere from a week to several months.

In review, the typical process and steps after being arrested will go something like the following:

  • The accused is transported to the police station where they are booked.
  • After booking, the court may offer the accused an option to post bail which is based on a pre-determined schedule of common, non-violent crimes. If they are able and willing to post bail, they are released from jail.
  • If the accused cannot post bail in the amount offered or refuses to post bail, they are placed in a holding until their court hearing or an arraignment.
  • At the arraignment or hearing, the accused can plead guilty or not guilty and the judge will set a bail amount. This accused can pay that amount out of pocket in cash or seek the services of a bail bondsman.
  • Prior to your court date, the recommendation is as soon as you are released from jail, you should seek the services of an attorney. This should be done even if you know that you are guilty of the charges against you. They will work to get the best sentencing for you possible.

Every citizen’s goal should be avoiding arrest, but things happen, and therefore we have a legal system in place. Following the letter of the law is always best, but if we don’t, we can depend on the legal system and due process. Call 888-224-5711 today for posting bail in Lebanon and Reading, PA.

What Happens When Charged with Aggravated Assault?

An Arrest of a Man.

Can Aggravated Assault Be Dropped?

If you or someone has been charged with aggravated assault, know that its a very serious crime in Pennsylvania. Many people who aren’t familiar with this type of crime might be wondering, “What’s aggravated assault?” Aggravated assault is when someone causes, or attempts to cause, intentional bodily harm to another person. When a person is charged with this crime and taken to trial, the prosecution will have to determine that the person who committed the crime acted recklessly, intentionally, or knowingly. People might ask, “What is an example of aggravated assault?” To get a better idea of what this type of assault is, we will provide an example. Hitting someone or threatening to hit someone using a weapon or another threatening item would be considered aggravated assault. So, how serious is aggravated assault? To find out how serious this type of assault is, we will include the charges and penalties for simple and aggravated assault in the state of Pennsylvania.

Simple Assault Charges/Penalties

  • 2nd-Degree Misdemeanor: When you threaten someone verbally with bodily harm, then that will be considered a 2nd-degree misdemeanor. This penalty for this type of charge is of one or two years in prison and a $5,000 or higher fine.
  • 1st-Degree Misdemeanor: A simple assault can go from a 2nd-degree to a 1st-degree misdemeanor if the victim of bodily harm is 12 years or younger. The penalty will be two and half years or five years in prison, with a fine of up to $10,000.

Aggravated Assault Charges/Penalties

  • 2nd-Degree Felony: If you intentionally cause bodily harm, attempt to cause bodily harm, that is considered aggravated assault. With a 2nd-degree felony, someone will get five to 10 years in prison, and have to pay a fine of up to $25,000.
  • 1st-Degree Felony: Aggravated assault goes from a 2nd-degree felony to a 1st-degree felony when the assault is brought against public servants and governments officials like police officers or public defenders. The penalty is 10 to 20 years in prison, with a fine of up to $25,000.

Many people want to know if aggravated assault charges can be dropped. The only way they could be dropped is if the prosecution can’t prove that the accused was not acting in self-defense. If they have proof that the accused was not acting in self-defense, then you they will most likely be charged.

Aggravated Assault Vs Simple Assault

Many people ask, “What are the different types of assault?” In Pennsylvania, there are two types of assaults, simple and aggravated. When someone learns that there are two different types of assault, they usually ask, “What is the difference between assault and aggravated assault?” Simple assault is when someone uses physical actions or words to threaten someone with bodily harm. An example of simple assault would be if someone said they were gonna to hit another person or they shook their fist in a threatening way at another person. Simple assault can also be when someone attempts to hurt someone but doesn’t make any contact with the other person. Simple assault is a misdemeanor charge, with prison time of up to two to five years and fines ranging from $5,000 to $10,000.

Aggravated assault is when someone knowingly or intentionally (and even attempts) to cause bodily harm to someone else. An example would be punching someone in the face. Aggravated assault are felony charges in Pennsylvania, with the charges going from a 2nd-degree to a 1st-degree felony when you cause bodily harm to firefighter, sheriff, district attorney, or person who works for the government or is a public servant. Prison time for aggravated can be anywhere from five to 20 years, with a fine of up to $25,000. So the difference is that aggravated assault is worse than simple assault.

Is Battery Worse Than Assault?

Every state looks at battery and assault differently. Some charge them as separate crimes, whereas some states merge them into one charge. Typically assault is classified as acting in a way where another person would feel threatened; assault doesn’t have to be physical. Battery is causing bodily harm without the consent of the other person. The definition of assault usually applies to simple assault, but when someone threatens and causes bodily harm to someone else, it can be considered aggravated assault or even battery. In Pennsylvania, there are no specific charges battery charges; battery is usually lumped in with assault charges. Based on the assault laws in Pennsylvania, battery isn’t worse than assault because battery is grouped with assault.

Aggravated Assault Bail

A Man in an Orange Jumpsuit and a Lawyer Talking to a Judge.

Contact Our Bail Bond Agents!

If you need bail for aggravated assault in Lebanon and Reading, PA, please call Bail Shop, LLC! We have bail services that will be able to get you released from jail quickly. Whether you need help with arrest warrants help or large cash bail bonds, our bail bondsmen are more than happy to work with you! Contact us at 888-224-5711 for more information about our bail bond services and how we can secure your release from jail on an aggravated assault charge.

Is Carrying a Concealed Weapon a Felony Or Misdemeanor?

Wooden Gavel and Gun Over US Flag

Become Aware of Weapons Use

When you’re interacting with a weapon it’s important that you toe the line within your state’s statutes and regulations. Weapon charges are numerous and can hold onto many specifics which can be hard to navigate once you’ve been charged. When you’ve recently gotten weapon charges to get into contact with a qualified lawyer and bail services to assist you in getting out. Bail can ultimately range from drug possession bail to other charges and can assist you through the legal process that follows a given charge in your state. It’s important to stay afloat of any legal ramifications regarding improper weapons use so you aren’t making any decisions that can prove to be difficult in the future. The health and safety of yourself and those around you should always be considered of the utmost importance no matter the situation. Do your research as per the guidelines and rules of the state that you live in and seek legal advice whenever you find yourself with a charge, be it weapon charges or other similar situation. Here is some information regarding weapons that can be useful to you in the state of Pennsylvania.

What does weapon offense mean?

A weapon offense signifies when there are violations from held regulations or statues which control interactions or use of deadly weapons. Deadly weapons could include certain knives, ammunition, explosives, firearms, and silencers.

Is possession of a weapon a felony?

Possession of a weapon if you’re not a felon is not considered a felony. If you are a felon in possession of a firearm that is considered a Class D felony which can be punishable up to 10 years in prison, $250,000 in fines as well as 3 years of supervised release.

Can deadly weapon charges be dropped?

Deadly weapon charges can be particularly severe when an assault or other crimes are tacked on it and will most likely be hard to drop with evidence or previous records. An assault with a deadly weapon is considered a second-degree felony with fines as high as $10,000 and 2-20 years of prison time. With first degree felonies, you can serve 5-99 years to life in prison with fines up to $10,000.

What happens if you get caught with a loaded gun?

Carrying a loaded firearm is a misdemeanor and can be punishable by a year in jail and/or up to a $1000 in fines.

Judge Gavel & Legal Library With Scale

Types of Weapons Charges in Pennsylvania

  • Illegal Possession of a Firearm
  • Possession of a Deadly Weapon
  • Carrying a Concealed Handgun Without a License
  • Possession of an Unregistered Firearm
  • Unlawful Use of a Firearm
  • Theft or Sale of a Stolen Gun

What is illegal use of a weapon?

Illegal use of a weapon can be dangerous not only for yourself but for the safety of others. When they are used criminally, intentionally or in other cases they can hold serious consequences in the legal realm. Negligent discharging of a firearm or using article liquids or substances that may result in death or bodily harm to a human can result in severe fines and prison time. 

Is possession of a firearm a felony or misdemeanor?

Unlawfully possessing a firearm can result in jail time and fines. Each state will have clear cut rules as to what type of people with certain types of histories may possess a firearm. Depending on your history and past offenses can determine the severity of the category of your charge. Weapon felony charges typically include if you’ve already had a history of violence, illegal use of weapons, and crimes which will prompt legal authorities to tack on more severe consequences and weapon charges.

Be Aware of the Consequences

You may expect different legal procedures depending on the state you reside in concerning having a weapon with charges. The severity of charges may differ if you have convicted weapon charges or other instances in your past which have shown as a warning to not engage or follow through with future use. The legal process of improperly using a weapon against state laws can be a long one with months to years of follow-up. Fines can stack up to the point where your only route would be to seek legal help or enlist in the services of a bail bondsman. Whatever may be the case it’s important to get in touch with legal advisors on what to do next when weapon charges have been laid out. Be sure to do your research and ask questions when necessary if any confusion arises. It’s better to be aware of rules and regulations than find out the hard way by violating them and undergoing the headache and long-time commitment of the legal process. When you’re in need of assistance contact your local legal office for assistance.

If you’re interested in weapon charges in Lebanon and Reading, PA call 888-224-5711 with Bail Shop, LLC!

What Does Appeal Mean?

Gavel In Judge Quarters

How Many Appeals are Allowed?

Generally speaking, the final judgment of a lower court can be appealed to a higher court only once. In any one case, the amount of appeals truly depends on how many courts are “superior” to the court that adjudicated the decision. The superior court will then determine what the basis for the case is. For larger states, there can be three or even four levels of courts. In smaller states, there are only two. Whether or not the case is brought forth in state or federal court will bring a different list of time limits, rules, and procedures. Most state courts require “finality” before the case, though there are many minor differences.

How Does the Appeal Process Work?

The party who files an appeal is known as the appellant. The appellant must show that the trial court made a legal error that affected the decision in the case. The appellant must prepare a legal written document that discussed the arguments concerning the case. In the brief, the appellant must explain that the trial court made errors, and because of that, the decision must be reversed. Appeals are arbitrated by a panel of three judges. The court of appeals may not receive additional evidence or hear out witnesses. Essentially, although some cases are decided based on written briefs alone, many cases are selected for an oral argument before the court.

No matter the circumstances, it is integral for all the participants in a courtroom to display court etiquette. Proper court etiquette includes dressing well for the courtroom, displaying respect to the judge and the lawyers, and being informed about the facts of your case.

What Are The 3 Types of Appeals?

According to Aristotle, there are three primary kinds of appeals that are applicable. The first is logos, which translates to ‘logic’. This argument relates to impartial evidence that is gathered and put forth. The second type of appeal is known as ‘ethos’ which is an ethical appeal. It utilizes moral expertise and knowledge. The third and final type of rational argument is pathos. Pathos relates to an appeal to the audience’s emotions. Essentially, these three types of appeals are utilized to effect a greater change, or an overturn of a wrongful trial.

How Do I File an Appeal?

Consult the following list to determine how you may file an appeal.

  • Hire or speak with an attorney about your case.
  • Identify the correct court to adjudicate your case.
  • Read the local rules correctly, and prepare your court etiquette.
  • Draft notice of appeal.
  • File your notice of appeal.
  • Request a copy of the trial transcript for your case.
  • Write your appellate brief.

If you are presenting an appeal to the court, it is important for you to post an appeal bond. Appeal bail bonds are required by the court to weed out fake or frivolous appeals that drain court resources.

What Happens When You Win an Appeal?

In cases where an individual wins, the case is “remanded.” This translates to meaning that the case will be sent back to the trial court or judge responsible for your conviction (and/or sentencing.) If the case is remanded, then you might receive a new trial on the criminal charges, be given a chance to negotiate a plea bargain, be given a new sentencing hearing, or even get released from jail or prison. The repercussions will vary.

Appeal is Dismissed

If you do not follow the rigorous code that governs the appeals process, or if the appellate court concludes that the appeal is frivolous, then expect to have the appeal dismissed. It is also possible to have the case dismissed if the case loses relevance. If the case can’t give the requested relief, the higher court will dismiss the appeal. Just as frivolous lawsuits can be filed, so frivolous appeals fall into the same category. When the case is settled after the trial but before the appeal, the appeal loses relevance, becomes “moot” or is deemed non-applicable.

Set of Scales In Courtroom

Appeal Lawyers Near Me

While the trial process can be exhausting, it is important to find an appellate lawyer to take the case to the next level. Usually, the defense attorney that adjudicated your original trial will be your natural choice, but for those who desire a fresh start, it’s important to secure a new, qualified attorney. The truth is, getting a new lawyer for the appeal process is the smart way to go. Appellate lawyers have a vastly different set of skills that are far more suited to the process wherein the appeals court lies. When arguing during this process, lawyers are usually summoned to parry disconnected questions from jurists while balancing their arguments within the broader context of the law.

Appeal Vs. Motion

With regard to the question of whether an appeal or a motion are synonymous, it may be confirmed that they are indeed similar. An appeal is known as a request to a different authority to review an adverse decision. In contrast, a motion is a request to the authority that issued the decision to review its decision. In some circumstances, you may file a motion to reopen or a motion to reconsider if you received an unfavorable decision in your case.

Appeal Bond

Such a bond may be defined as an amount of money that is placed in holding while an appeal is being decided. These bonds are purchased by the appellant who is currently appealing the lower court’s judgment, and the amount deemed acceptable is usually the amount of the original judgment.

When you need an appeal in Lebanon and Reading, PA, call Bail Shop, LLC first at 888-224-5711.

What Happens When You Get a DUI for the First Time?

A Picture of an Arrested Man in Handcuffs.

What’s a DUI Charge?

When you are faced with your first DUI charge, it can be a really scary thing to deal with. Not only because it can involve an arrest but because the entire process can seem completely alien. If you have been arrested for a DUI for a the first time, you probably have a ton of questions that you need answered. Luckily, we have put together answers for commonly asked questions about DUIs and DUI bail.

How Long Do You Have To Stay in Jail for a DUI?

If someone is tried and convicted of a DUI offense in the state of Pennsylvania the amount of jail time for a DUI is going to be based on your blood alcohol content. A first time offender with a BAC of .08 to .099% won’t have any jail time, but they can have up to six months of probation. For first time offenders that have a BAC of .10 to .159%, they can expect prison time for either two day or six months. The highest BAC is .16% and more, so if someone has a .16% and it’s their first offense, they can be in jail for three days or be in prison for six months. In order to get out of jail to prepare for your case, you will need bail for DUI charge. DUI bail will be based on the discretion of the court or the judge presiding over your case.

How Much Does It Cost If You Get a DUI?

Again, if you live in Pennsylvania, the way that the fines or fees are determined if how high your blood alcohol content is. A first offense with a .08 to .099% blood alcohol content is going to be $300. With a blood alcohol content of .10 to .159% on a first offense, that is going to be $500 to $5,000 in fines and fees. When your blood alcohol content is .16% or higher, the total amount of fines is anywhere between $1,000 to $5,000.

Can You Get a DUI Dropped?

For first time offenders, it is very common to ask whether or not a DUI can be dropped. These types of charges can stay on your permanent record, so wanting to get this kind of charged expunged is pretty reasonable. Each DUI case is going to be different, so depending on the particulars of your specific case will determine whether or not you can have your DUI charge dropped. There have been cases where a person with multiple DUI charges have had at least one dropped, so it’s not out of the realm of possibility to have a first time DUI offense dropped. Again, it is really going to depend on the specifics of your individual case whether it will be dropped or not.

What Is a DUI Bail?

DUI bail is when someone who has been arrested can pay money in order to be released from jail. The DUI bail amount is based on certain criteria that are placed by the court or the judge. There many factors that determine the bail amount which are

  • The seriousness of the offense.
  • How many DUIs this person has had.
  • What type of criminal record they have
  • If the person is considered a flight risk.
  • If the person is considered a danger to the community.

Once those factors have been considered, a bail amount will be decided and posted. A lot of times people are unable to afford the bail amount, which is why many people bail services. Getting bail bonds through a bail bond agency can lessen the financial burden that bail can put on someone. There are times when someone can be released from jail without DUI bail or have DUI bail denied. People who have a first DUI offense are more likely to have DUI released without bail if they didn’t crash their car, hurt someone, or have a BAC that is higher than .08%. When DUI bail is denied for a first time DUI offense, the courts or judge could deny someone bail because of their past criminal history or because they think the person is a flight risk.

DUI Vs. DWI

A Picture of a Shot of Whiskey with Car Keys and Handcuffs.

Whats Worse a DUI or DWI?

While typically, DUI and DWI are used interchangeably a lot of the time, they are actually quite different. The biggest difference that these two crimes have is what the abbreviations of the term mean; DUI is driving under the influence, while a DWI is driving while intoxicated. If you have been drinking and get pulled over and have a BAC of over .08%, you will more than likely be charged with a DWI. If you are driving and have taken illegal substances and have a BAC of over .08%, you will be charged with a DUI. However, there are some states that have a zero tolerance, which means that whether you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs, if your BAC is over the legal limit, you will be charged with a crime.

The state of Pennsylvania has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to drinking or being under the influence while driving, so they don’t really distinguish between a DWIs and DUIs because they are both crimes which involve high BAC levels. If you are needing DUI bail in Lebanon and Reading, PA, the bail bond agents at Bail Shop, LLC can help! Whether you are in a position where you need felony or misdemeanor bail, our team is ready to help you out. Give us a call at 888-224-5711 to learn more about how we can help you.

What Is A Drug Charge?

Arrest in of itself can be a life-changing and stressful experience. Not only is the person being arrested having their life suddenly thrown off the tracks but so it the life of their family and friends. A drug charge is a serious offense that can end in serious consequences such as jail fine, and hefty fines that make it hard for the accused to bounce back. Knowing what constitutes as a drug charge and their consequences can help you, or someone you know, stay out of trouble. 

What Is A Drug Charge?

Drug charge arrest

Drug charges generally lead to jail time. 

A drug charge is the accusation that a person or group of people have been found in the possession of illegal drugs or paraphernalia. The charge depends heavily on the type of drug found and the intent of the drug. A drug charge does not mean that you are initially guilty, it does mean that there is evidence stacked against you. Being able to hire a good lawyer and having time to figure out your options is one of your best bets in proving your innocence.

What Are The Consequences Of A Drug Charge?

Heavy penalties are what face those who have been convicted of a drug charge. The initial consequences may seem bad at first but in reality, it is the consequences that present themselves after you have finished your time in jail that can make it harder for you to reach your goals. 

Here are some of the immediate consequences for a drug charge

  • Jail or federal prison time
  • Hefty, hefty fines
  • Time with Community Service
  • Probation
  • House arrest

Once you have completed your jail time, you will find that life on the outside isn’t the same as before you went in. You will have a harder time finding a job and housing after you have been convicted of a crime, as people will pass up your application in favor of a more law-abiding citizen. You may not be able to apply for colleges or even college loans. The right to vote and the right to own a gun will be stripped with you, as well as your ability to hold public office and join the military. 

What Kind Of Drugs Fall Under The Risk Of A Drugs Charge?

With the changing laws on certain drugs, it can be a bit unclear as to which drugs will land you with a drug charge. We have taken the time to go through the different degrees of drug charges as well as the drugs that fall under each charge. 

Schedule 1

Heroin, GHB, LSD, and Marijuana all fall under the schedule one category, as they are considered non-medical drugs. All four of these drugs are highly addictive and have a higher chance of abuse. (Over recent years though, it has been passed around to put marijuana under different categories, as the drug has been found to have some positive uses in the medical field, and because some states are already legalizing it, such as California.)

Schedule 2

Cocaine, meth, opium, and highly controlled prescriptions such as morphine, and oxycodone fall under schedule 2 because they are highly addictive but have some medical uses. If you are caught with these drugs and do not have a prescription to use them, then the consequences can be extremely severe.

Schedule 3

Are drugs that have a wider medical acceptance, such as steroids, ketamine, and Vicodin. These are drugs are still considered addictive but not as much as schedule 1 and 2.

Schedule 4 and 5

Are all prescription medicines that people can abuse by illegally sharing them or for having them in their possession without a proper prescription from a legitimate doctor.

How Long Is The Jail Sentence For Drug Possession?

 

Consequences of Jail

The consequences of going to jail reach farther than the time spent behind bars. 

Jail time depends on the type of drug charge and what was the intent behind having the drugs in your possession in the first place. Having drugs for personal use is a lot different than having drugs for distributions.

Possession

Possession is generally charged for people who have been caught with a smaller amount of drugs. Jail time for a possession drug charge varies depending on state and the amount of drug found on a person during the crime. Generally, the amount of jail time is about a year along with a fine that can range anywhere from $500-5,000. The possession of drugs is generally considered a misdemeanor and not a federal offense. 

Distribution Or Sale Of Drugs

If you are caught selling or distributing drugs, then you will be charged with a federal offense. Again, the penalties vary case by case but it is common to see about 40 years of prison along with a fine that can range up to $100,000. 

Selling drugs to a minor will land you in even more trouble and harsher fines. Any charge of selling or distributing drugs go up at least five years when a minor is involved. (Also, most judges will not hear the defense of, “I didn’t know their age.”)

In order to be charged with a sale or distribution of drugs charge, the person has to be in possession of large amounts of cash that have no explanation as to where it came from, large amounts of the drug, and equipment that is used for the dividing and packaging of drugs for sale.

Smuggling Drugs

Smuggling drugs is a federal offense and carry with it hefty jail time that starts at 5 years and then climbs depending on how much of the drug was on the person when they were caught. The minimum fine charge is $5 million dollars, and if you are like a majority of Americans, then there is no way in your wildest dreams that you would be able to afford that. You would literally be in debt up to your eyeballs.

What Makes A Crime A Felony or A Misdemeanor?

Misdemeanor

Misdemeanors refer to non-violent crimes.  

The difference between a felony and a misdemeanor has to deal with the intent of the crime. A crime that has a violent or even malicious intent is considered a felony. Misdemeanors generally involve non-violent crimes, as they have no intention of harming anyone (albeit themselves.)

Are There Any Misdemeanor Drug Charges?

Typically, drug possession with no intent to sell is usually considered a misdemeanor. This is because the drug was intended for personal use/recreation and poses no real threat towards the general public.

What If I Have A Minor Who Has Been Accused Of A Drugs Charge?

Minors are generally treated differently than adults. If you have a minor charged with drugs, they may end up doing community service, could potentially face jail time (depending on how old they are), face fines, and end up going into rehabilitation. (Which in retrospect, may help them.)

Is There A Way That I Can Beat My Drug Charge?

Your best defense against a drug charge is to avoid putting yourself in the situation of getting one altogether. If you or someone you know is struggling with the ugly addictive of drugs, it isn’t too late, there is always hope. There are programs across the United States that are designed to help you beat your addiction and help you regain control of your life. The only catch to this is, is that the person suffering from the addiction is in charge of getting help. No one can do it for them. Change is something personal, and usually, people don’t even begin to notice the need for it until they hit rock bottom. 

If you already find yourself or someone you know in the position of being faced with a drug charge, and they are being held until they can post bail. then turn to Bail Shop, LLC. We help you by helping front the money for bail, giving you time to get your attorney and your defense on board, to help you face your day in court. If you are looking for someone to help you out in your time of need then call us at 888-224-5711 in Lebanon and Reading, PA. 

Most Common Charges and What to Do When You’re Charged

A Man That Has Been Arrested Has Been Put in Handcuffs

People Who Have Criminal Charges Need To Know What To Do When They’ve Been Charged.

When it comes to being arrested, a lot of things can be confusing. For instance, what does it mean to be charged with a crime? There are three types of meanings that are used when someone is arrested and brought to court and those are charged, convicted, and sentenced. When someone is charged with a crime, it’s a claim that a crime has been committed by that said person. If the person who is charged with the crime is convicted, this means that they have been found either guilty or innocent of the charge. Once a conviction has been made, the sentencing then takes place, which will then tell the person what their punishment is committing the crime. We also hear the term, “indictment” in connection with criminal charges. A lot of people will ask, “Is an indictment the same as being charged?” and the answer is that they are not the same. An indictment is when a grand jury files criminal charges against a person, whereas a criminal charge, is when the prosecutor files charges. In the case of an indictment, there is the question of can charges be dropped after indictment? The answer is yes; a grand jury will usually drop indictment criminal charges if the case isn’t strong enough. 

If a friend or family member has been charged with a crime, it’s important to know these legal terms, as they can help you through the entire process. Not only that, when someone you know has been charged with a crime, they need to have legal guidance in order to win their case. Since charges are allegations made against someone, it’s a good idea to know the most common criminal charges.

  • Aggravated assault
  • Burglary
  • Drug possession
  • Robbery
  • Theft / Larceny
  • Vehicle Theft

When someone is charged with a crime, they use abbreviations in criminal records. Knowing common abbreviations for criminal charges can help you navigate criminal records and what charges have been made against a person. If someone is charged with aggravated assault, the abbreviation will be AA; if the charge is aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, the abbreviation for the charge will be AA/DW.

List of Crimes and Their Punishments

A Burglar Is Using a Screwdriver To Break Through a Door

Different Criminals Charges Are Going To Have Different Punishments.

When you are charged with a crime, it’s a good idea to know what the punishment for the crime is going to be. However, it’s important to note that not every person will be sentenced to the same punishment even if they are charged with the same crime. For example, someone who hasn’t been charged with drug possession before is going to have a lesser sentence than someone who has been charged with that crime two or three times. When it comes to crimes, there are over 50 types of crimes. To make this easier, we will go over the punishments of the most common types of charges.

  • Aggravated Assault: Aggravated assault is the most serious type of assault, so generally this kind of crime is considered a felony.
  • Burglary: People who commit burglary will either be sentenced to time in jail or prison (depending on the severity), as well as have to pay fines and can also have probation and restitution sentences.
  • Drug Possession: When someone is charged with a drug possession, the type of punishment is going to depend on the state you live in, what kind of drug was on the said person, but you can bet that there will be jail or prison time based on how many drug possession charges the person has had.
  • Robbery: Different states are going to have different penalties and sentences for robberies. Some will be considered a felony and require prison time, and most of the time there will be probation and restitution charges.
  • Theft: Depending on the theft charge, it can either be a misdemeanor or felony charge. There can be jail time, prison time, fines, restitution, and probation for people who have committed theft.

How Do Bail Bonds Work

A Picture of a Man Standing in a Courtroom in Front of a Judge

Bail Bonds Are Able To Help People Who Have Criminal Charges.

If your friend or a family member has been charged with a crime, they have a chance to be released from jail before they begin their trial. To be released from jail, they can use a bail bond provided by a bail bond company. Bail is used to paying the court to ensure that the defendant will appear on their scheduled court date. When determining someone’s bail, the judge will look at the person’s criminal history, whether they are a flight risk, how serious the crime is, and if they are a danger to their community. Sometimes a court will even have a bail schedule and will go based on that in order to set bail.

Once bail has been set, someone can either pay in cash or use a bail bond to be released from jail. So which is better, bail bonds vs cash? When thinking of bail bonds and cash, one shouldn’t be considered better than the other. If someone has the necessary means to pay cash to get released from jail, they can use cash; if someone can’t pay $1,000 for bail in cash, then getting a bail bond will work. The way that bail bonds work is that the defendant or a family member calls a bail bonds company and pays a percentage of the amount of the bail. With that, the bail bondsman posts bail for the defendant, and the defendant is released from jail. However, if the defendant skips bail, the bail bond is forfeited, which means whoever paid the bail bond amount will not get the money back.

If you are wanting to know about the common charges in Lebanon and Reading, PA, please call Bail Shop, LLC at 888-224-5711! We are the bail bondsman you can rely on!

What Can Lead to a Probation Violation?

Man in Yellow Shirt with Hands Cuffed Behind His Back.

A Violation of Probation Will Lead to a Warrant for Your Arrest.

If you were convicted of a crime and received a sentence of probation, then you managed to avoid jail time. Of course, probation comes with its own rules and fees. If you cannot abide by the requirements outlined in your sentence, or through your probation officer’s discretion, you will find yourself in violation of probation. A violation will lead to your arrest and detention in anticipation of a revocation hearing.

Any number of things can happen at a revocation hearing, from the extension of your probation, to the addition of new requirements or complete revocation. If you have your probation revoked, you will return to jail for the entirety of your original sentence. Worse yet, none of the time you spent on probation will count towards this sentence. To avoid this unfortunate circumstance, you’ll want to understand exactly how a violation of probation can occur.

Actions That Can Lead to a Violation of Probation

Probation typically comes with a bevy of requirements, including the timely payment of fees, fines, and restitution, regular meetings with your probation officer, and classes you must attend. Probationers will also have an assortment of activities they must avoid, including, of course, any criminal activity or use of illegal substances. If you want to succeed on probation, you must adhere to each and every requirement. The following actions will lead to a probation violation and revocation hearing.

  • Additional Criminal Charges: If you are arrested while on probation, you’re in for a good bit of trouble. Judges do not take kindly to probationers who blow their opportunity through the intentional commitment of another crime.
  • Positive Test for Drugs or Alcohol: A common reason for probation violations occurs through drug or alcohol use. Many probationers are subject to random drug tests. If your original arrest involved alcohol, then you will likely endure testing for it, in addition to drugs.
  • Missed Appointments: Missing an appointment with your probation officer can absolutely lead to a violation. The entire point of probation is a commitment to community supervision. If you fail to show up for a scheduled appointment with your officer, this supervision cannot occur. If you must miss an appointment, notify your officer beforehand.
  • Weapon Possession: Probationers cannot carry weapons, regardless of any concealed carry permit they have. If you are caught with a weapon, it usually indicates involvement in another crime. This combination of charges will frequently lead to revocation.

All in all, the key to surviving probation is to simply follow the rules laid out for you. If you do receive a probation violation, you will find yourself in handcuffs, in need of further bail bond service. For help with a violation of probation in Lebanon and Reading, PA, reach out to the expert team at Bail Shop, LLC. We’re available anytime you need, so pick up the phone and dial 888-224-5711.